Miscellaneous

Balancing Art and Work

Hey everyone!

So I’ve been really busy with school and work lately and I’ve not had the chance to draw at all. However, I’ve firmed my Uni options now and I’ve been immersing myself in school work like mad because my first exam is just over a month away. Now I’ve got some time, I want to share with you all my tips on keeping organised and being able to balance art/school/work.

  • Keep a Planner/Organiser: Don’t underestimate the importance of a good organiser. True to its name, it helps us keep, well, organised! I’ve always used planners since I started secondary school (though it wasn’t really necessary then as I barely had important dates or work to keep track of aha) right up until now. My Filofax keeps all my dates and necessary info safe and on hand at all times, so I know when I am doing and what. This means I also know when I have a bit of free time to draw, write and craft. The thing I love most about planning is that there is no specific way to do it, so every individual can find their own system that works for them. For me, I love to use washi tapes, stickers, sticky notes and all manners of stationery to decorate my planner and as well my own system to plan my day. For you, maybe you like to add lots of cutesy things like me or you might like to keep it simplistic with structured to-do lists or you might prefer to throw everything into your organiser without any formal system but just knowing that your important stuff is in one place. As long as it works for you, that’s all that matters 🙂
  • Take Note of Inspirations: While you are busy and lack time to draw, it’s still worth noting down any ideas that come to you. Write a few short notes on your inspiration (maybe in your planner!) or take a single minute to do a doodle of whatever comes to mind. This means that there is no commitment to trying to make a complete and perfect piece of art when you can’t seem to find any time. When your schedule is a bit more free and you have a little more time to yourself, you can look back at your notes and scribbles to inspire you or remind you of all the ideas you had for drawing. 
  • Separate Art from Studies/Work: Try to keep your art as a means of relaxing and being able to enjoy yourself, rather than trying to make it a part of you obligatory tasks . This includes those who are art students or working in art related occupations – you most likely have things you’d like to draw but cannot because you are busy working for pieces that fit mark scheme requirements or client descriptions. I’ve gone through the stages of drawing when I know I should be revising or working but over time, it just builds up to extra work that needs to be done by a limited amount of days and therefore no time to properly sit down and enjoy my art. Additionally, if you run an art page on social media, it might also feel like an obligation to post as often as possible but you have to remember that you are drawing for yourself too, as well as your followers and fans. This means putting personal stuff first and getting it done, so that you can then produce art at your best because you aren’t worried about the next essay that’s due tomorrow. You’ll find that pretty much all your followers will understand because at the end of the day, we are all human beings with our own lives off of social media!

So I hope you all found that useful! I know how stressful keeping on top of things can be but it doesn’t have to be if you just give yourself a little bit of ‘me time’ but also make sure to not procrastinate from stuff you know have to do.

Much love,

~Kat

Leave a Reply

